Norihiko Hibino / Gentle Love

Norihiko Hibino / Gentle Love. Передняя обложка . Click to zoom.
Norihiko Hibino / Gentle Love
Передняя обложка
Covers release: Hibino Sound Therapy Lab
Composed by Barry DeVorson & Perry Botkin Jr. / Bob Crewe / Don McLean / Hou De Jian / Jimmy Webb / Jose Mari Chan / Juan Carlos Calderon / Lee Ching Kwang / Синдзи Тамура / Wang Lee Hom / Zhou Lan Ping
Arranged by Норихико Хибино
Published by GEM Factory
Catalog number XQEF-1005
Release type Solo Work - Solo Album
Format 1 CD - 11 tracks
Release date April 24, 2009
Genres Jazz / Lounge
Оцените альбом!


Gentle Love is Norihiko Hibino's latest solo album. Released as part of his newly opened Hibino Sound Therapy Lab, it features simple jazz covers of famous Chinese, American, Latin American, and Japanese pop and love ballads performed by Norihiko Hibino, Yuichiro Onuki, and Syuji Narikawa. Does this album have a soothing sound and how do the arrangements sound?


I'm not familiar with too many of the originals on this soundtrack, but what is offered is very peaceful. Themes like "Subaru" and "Green Island Serenade" translate to beautiful smooth jazz, yet still retain that subtle Asian atmosphere. They are both very calming themes and are some of my favorites on the album as well. "Descendant of the Dragon" is also quite calming, but it also fits more along the lines of what I'd describe as having a "smoky" atmosphere. It'd be great in a detective movie, if you ask me!

Some of the themes I am familiar with are "Eres Tu," "Can't Take My Eyes Off of You," and "Nadia's Theme - The Young and the Restless". The first theme is another great cover. While it doesn't try anything too ambitious, which I think is not the point of this album, it manages to strengthen the original through its use of piano and saxophone solo sections. "Can't Take My Eyes Off of You" is probably my favorite cover on the album. Hibino's saxophone playing on this one manages to convey the love heard in the original and the little additional flourishes he adds here and there to the melody really accentuate the original.

The most surprising theme on here is probably "Nadia's Theme" from the soap opera The Young and the Restless. It's a beautiful mixture of piano, acoustic guitar, and saxophone playing and it's probably the theme were Hibino really adds a lot of improvisations to the main melody. It's a stunning rendition of the original, and the subtle guitar notes really strike the heart, in a good way. It's such a relaxing theme and, if I were to pin the success of the album on this one piece, it'd be a winner.


In short, this is definitely an album worth picking up. The jazz arrangements aren't the fanciest, only featuring acoustic guitar, piano, and saxophone, but considering the fact this was released as part of Hibino's new Sound Therapy Lab, I think it really does the job. To be honest, the first time I listened to this, I was laying on my bed and it put me into such a relaxing state that I ended up falling asleep. It managed to take away all my thoughts and worries and put me in a calming mood. For those who are fans of the originals and Hibino's jazz, it's definitely a fantastic combination. I hope he does more albums like this!


Music in game


Don Kotowski

Norihiko Hibino (Saxophone)
Yuichiro Onuki (Piano)
Syuji Narikawa (Guitar)


1. Jose Mari Chan
2. Zhou Lan Ping
3. Hou De Jian
4. Don McLean
5. Barry DeVorson & Perry Botkin Jr.
6. Bob Crewe
7. Shinji Tanimura
8. Wang Lee Hom
9. Lee Ching Kwang
10. Juan Carlos Calderon
11. Jimmy Webb

Рецензия на альбом Norihiko Hibino / Gentle Love

...Альбом Gentle Love является идейным продолжателем «Здорового сна», но выполненным в более классической манере. За основу пластинки были взяты известные романтические баллады от целой когорты музыкантов (удивительный список см. в титрах). Здесь и японцы, и американцы, и даже китайцы...Ознакомиться с рецензией. ... Показать

 30.06.2009    1242

Нежная любовь от Хибино

Наш старый знакомый Норихико Хибино, автор музыки Metal Gear Solid 2-4, Ninja Blade (интервью читайте где-то рядом) и множества других проектов, подготовил очередную сольную работу. На этот раз он взял популярные баллады американских, японских и китайских исполнителей и сделал на них каверы. Помогали ему в этом... Показать

 28.04.2009    1234
Album was composed by Barry DeVorson & Perry Botkin Jr. / Bob Crewe / Don McLean / Hou De Jian / Jimmy Webb / Jose Mari Chan / Juan Carlos Calderon / Lee Ching Kwang / Синдзи Тамура / Wang Lee Hom / Zhou Lan Ping and was released on April 24, 2009. Soundtrack consists of 11 tracks tracks with duration over . Album was released by GEM Factory.

Sounds like Jazz, Lounge - that's what we can say about this album.

CD 1

Beautiful Girl
Green Island Serenade
Descendant Of The Dragon
And I Love You So
Nadia's Theme - The Young And The Restless
Can't Take My Eyes Off You
Forever Love
Ye Lai Xiang
Eres Tu
Do What You Gotta Do
  • Average album rating: 8.0 (1)
  • Page views: 15095
  • Album achieved 1458 place in our Hall of Fame
  • 1 person have this album in collection